How much memory do you have?

I failed the test today. The test to see how much medical knowledge was stuck in my brain. No one would fault me for this. I won’t get my license taken away for this. There are many people who would probably say I shouldn’t have known this in the first place.

A patient came into the clinic to see me who had had a laceration and had to get stitches, also known as sutures placed. In the emergency room, the electronic health record documentation told a tale of putting her to sleep with some sleepy medicine and closing up the cut with four neat 5-0 vicryl sutures. Here is where my hand hovered over the mouse and clicked on the Internet Explorer icon. *Ding* You know the screen. “The page is not responding. Windows is checking for a solution to the problem…” Let me guess, Windows does not have dredging up a broken fiberoptic cable on the ocean floor as a possible solution in their database.

I racked my brain. Vicryl. Vicryl. What material is that made of? Is it dissolvable or do I need to take the sutures out. If you work in the emergency room or operating room, you probably know since you use this everyday. As a pediatrician, we don’t suture people often so I don’t have that information at my fingertips. I actually visualized myself flipping through my notecards from medical school to see if that would help me remember.

I gave up.

I called the emergency room and asked the doctor there. He’s great but I’m sure he chuckled a bit. This would have been something that would have taken a two second Google search in the past. He rattled off the answer (dissolvable) and I hung up, now prepared to see my next patient.

This is the true test. How much memory do you have? How much knowledge do you know – and I mean really know. For certain. Like you’re willing to put someone’s well being in your hands for that knowledge. Fortunately I have a downloaded (and actually also a paper version that I’ve shared with the pediatrics unit) formulary (a fancy word for a catalog of all the drugs, their side effects, they doses, etc) on my cell phone. I have many medicine dosages, their trade names and generic names stored in my brain but having a double check is super important.

I think I need an extra memory card slot! (Have you watched the movie “Inside Out”? Yeah, I need to be able to tell my long term memory to recall that thought bubble.) Trust me, I will never forget that Vicryl is absorbable suture ever again.

Stay tuned for more.

(To start reading from the beginning, click here)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment